CSI:NY Says Goodbye to Stella Bonasera

I’m currently catching up on the Season 6 of CSI:NY.  With only 2 more episodes to go before it’s finale when I gave in to my curiosity the other day for updates and episode guides for the upcoming 7th season through wikipedia.  One word caught my attention while scrolling down under the character listing: Stella Bonasera (deceased).

WHAAATTTT!!!

I couldn’t believe what I was reading.  Stella Bonasera … deceased??  They were going to write her off the series?!?  I was hoping, fervently praying that it was just a rumor.  But sad to say… it is true.  A reference article which you can read here confirms it.  They say that although a renewed contracted was offered to Melina Kanakaredes, she opted not to sign up and continue her role as Detective Stella Bonasera of the New York Crime lab saying that she has made amazing and lifelong friendships on the show and that she will treasure them forever.

I can’t imagine CSI:NY season 7 being as great as the previous seasons.  Oh sure they had to let go two other CSI cast namely: Vanessa Ferlito (Aiden Burn) who was a regular cast of season 1, and Emmanuelle Vaugier (Jessica Angell) a recurring guest star for season 5 – I think, but the loss of those two characters is nothing compared to the loss of Melina Kanakaredes.  The show had it’s perfect blend of characters that their relationship with each other shows authenticity and great chemistry.  I might end up hoping that Stella would just turn up and surprise everybody telling how she pulled a fast one with the guys.

I felt so bad in knowing about this.  I understand that actors have the option in choosing which roles to portray but why did CSI:NY writers have to kill her in the season?!?  Couldn’t she just have moved out or something?  Be more creative rather than morbid?  Why kill a character?  I wonder how CSI:NY Season 7 will turn out.  I hope it would still be a great series though.

I can’t help it.  I’m so bummed about this news.  I couldn’t even focus on my game last night.  The phrase “Stella Bonasera – deceased” kept popping in and out of my head.  Darn.

Oh well… I guess I’ll have to wait for next season to find out.  At least I still have a few more episodes (and watch reruns of previous seasons’ episodes) to remember a character who was so full of heart, and an actress who’s persona was so strong that you can’t help but admire her.

For those who would like to know, she will be replaced by Stella Ward who will be portraying Detective First Grade Kelly Montalone.

Note to Melina Kanakaredes:  I’LL MISS YOU, STELLA BONASERA!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on July 24, 2010, in My Two Cents Worth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Keep on working, great job!

  2. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your head before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Appreciate it!

  3. I ddo not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

