“What’s Up” – Becoming Nostalgic

The first few chords strumming over  our car radio was very familiar.  Memories began flashing back in my head – of being awed by my Grade 3 classmates’ singing, of buying my first rock cassette tape, of memorizing song lyrics accompanied with hand gestures, and singing my first rock song solo during my cousin’s birthday in Cebu when I was about 8 years old.  My, oh my.  It has been quite a long time since I’ve heard of this song.  And I can still memorize each line.  This was the first song I sang that wasn’t a Disney OST.  A milestone in my so-called “singing career” that introduced me to different music genres which is in my library of music repertoire.

So I’m sharing this with you.

What’s Up
4 Non Blondes

Twenty – five years and my life is still
Trying to get up that great big hill of hope
For a destination

And I realized quickly when I knew I should
That the world was made up of this brotherhood of man
For whatever that means

And so I cry sometimes
When I’m lying in bed
Just to get it all out
What’s in my head
And I am feeling a little peculiar

And so I wake in the morning
And I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?

And I say, hey hey hey hey
I said hey, what’s going on?
Ooh, ooh ooh

And I try, oh my god do I try
I try all the time, in this institution
And I pray, oh my god do I pray
I pray every single day
For a revolution

And so I cry sometimes
When I’m lying in bed
Just to get it all out
What’s in my head
And I am feeling a little peculiar

And so I wake in the morningAnd I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?

And I say, hey hey hey hey
I said hey, what’s going on?

Twenty – five years and my life is still
Trying to get up that great big hill of hope
For a destination

How about you guys?  Do you have any songs that moved you today?  Or some song which influenced you in any way?  Or just any song that made you nostalgic today.

Care to share? ^^  Post your thoughts!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Lyrics, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

