Birthday Surprise

I know that I emanate a strong aura and that a lot of people – those who don’t know me – tend to assume that I’m a snob or high maintenance.  I couldn’t care any less on how they view me.  I don’t need to explain myself.  However, being of strong personality doesn’t mean I’m immune to being deeply touched.

It’s my birthday!!

For this year, I was really downplaying my birthday for certain financial reasons.  Also, it’s nice to be excited and [act/’be] surprised.   I don’t get easily surprised.   Most “surprises” planned by my parents or my friends (at times) I already figure out on the day itself – either I find out about it in advance or they end up telling me.   So I think it’s only rightfully fair to share how my day started.

Waking up to the sound of my phone alerting me of new messages one after the other. Birthday greetings, morning greetings, and unexpected texts from rarely-keeping-in-touch acquaintances. Checked my Facebook and read a few greets. My Mom didn’t greet me when she woke up and my Dad almost forgot if Mom forgot to greet me. Blew out my custard “cake” then off to work. I was greeted throughout the office and then sat down at my cube.

my custard “cake”

A couple of minutes later, someone from our canteen gave me 2 boxes of Pinoy finger foods.   Daddy D gave me his gift. A live FROG!?! A baby frog who hopped along the aisle in our office. (He had to take it back though.  WHEW!!)  He gave me a piece of mangosteen instead.  As I was moving some stuff on my table, I chanced upon a card. It wasn’t signed. But I was deeply moved to tears.  So touching.  I already had an inkling on who it was from and I was right! Tatay texted me to hint that he was the one it came from.

surprise, surprise
puto at pichi-pichi

Awww… how sweet.

Anyway, looking forward to more surprises and not-so surprises ahead. ^^

Happy Birthday to me!

the baby frog
About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on August 11, 2010, in Any Ordinary Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. it’s ur burpday!! ahihi.. happy birthday siTse!! may you haVe a good one.. 🙂

  2. i have a feeling ako tong not-so surprises. hehe… sige lng bai, i lab ur reaction to d highlighter naman pud… 😀

Leave a Reply

