The Walk After The Run

I couldn’t decide whether I should take a cab or a jeepney home after my fun run.  My stinginess and laziness in pulling out coins from my wallet made the decision for me.  I ended up opting to walk home.

Now, walking from NCCC Mall to our home wasn’t just an around the corner walk.  It was even farther than my 5K run.  Nevertheless, my iPod kept me company along the way.  I was in my own world while enjoying the sights around me that I whizz by when riding.  Since the rain finally stopped, the remaining clouds in the sky created a good backdrop for walking.  The weather was just right and the sun wasn’t too angry yet.

While walking, I remembered that my iPod had a pedometer to record my steps.  So I turned it on (I should have turned it on earlier during my run.  Maybe next time).   I saw a couple of runners who were also walking towards their own destinations.  I doubted though that they were going to walk the same distance as I was planning on.

Sights to see

I wanted to take a different route than what I usually get to pass by when commuting.  So I weaved through different streets just for fun and have a small touch of adventure.  It was like a walk along memory lane.  There were different memories attached to some of the places I passed by that I wish I could have recorded my thoughts while I was walking.  I’d be able to share more and remember more.

crossroads

I remembered missing out on a birthday party of one of my carpool friends while passing by the road to their old house.  I remembered being at awe in seeing beautiful houses and finding out where certain coffee shops were located (like Museo Café and Yellow haus), and discovering branches of bakeries  as well as discovering food restaurants offering buffets.

yellow hauz

Then eventually, I turned into more familiar corners and I knew that my adventure was almost over.  Just in time though.  The sun was starting to make its presence known and my feet were starting to complain.  I checked the time and I estimated that I was already walking for almost two hours straight.  My what an exercise!

When I got home, I stopped my pedometer and it reported that I took about 6,468 steps.  Not bad.  If I included counting the steps I took while running, maybe I would have recorded about 10,000 steps or maybe more!  HAHA!  Nice!

All in all, I guess it’s okay to be on your own while walking.  At least you get to keep to your own pace.  And you get to re-explore the world around you.  It might be a long time before I get to join another fun run event, but it won’t definitely be that long before I go on to my next walking adventure.

D@rk_@ngel_kn!ght.  Have feet, will travel. ^^

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on August 15, 2010, in Any Ordinary Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

