I Do Not Love You

Sharing this with you.  A poem by Pablo Neruda.  I heard it when I watched Patch Adams.

XVII (I Do Not Love You)
Pablo Neruda

I do not love you as if you were salt-rose, or topaz, or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off. I love you as certain dark things are to be loved, in secret, between the shadow and the soul. I love you as the plant that never blooms but carries in itself the light of hidden flowers; thanks to your love a certain solid fragrance, risen from the earth, lives darkly in my body. I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride; so I love you because I know no other way than this: where I does not exist, nor you, so close that your hand on my chest is my hand, so close that your eyes close as I fall asleep. 
Sharing this with you.  A poem by Pablo Neruda.  I heard it when I watched Patch Adams.

Patch Adams (played by Robin Williams) was finally able to finish reading this poem to his girlfriend. Unfortunately, it was over her grave.

Such a sad note in the part of the movie. Losing someone you love deeply to a heinous crime, questions your purpose in life. I am amazed how altruistic other people are even when faced with painful realities.

I hope to be as resilient as that.

* Just a short trivia though. In real life, it was Patch Adams’ friend who was killed and not his girlfriend.

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on August 18, 2010, in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

