Come So Far (Got So Far To Go)

Cover of "Hairspray (Full-Screen Edition)...

Cover of Hairspray (Full-Screen Edition)

My iTunes was playing over the background as I was working with this song playing.  I suddenly remembered my “Tol“.   My “younger brother” in our barkada.   He was my movie date when watching Hairspray (which this song was a soundtrack of).   And I just remembered that this was one of the songs he was bobbing his head along with the beat.   Now he’ll be moving to Cebu for pursue greener pastures within the month and it would be a VERY long time before I get to see him again.

Jaydee was one of my ex boyfriend’s close friends.   But over the years, we become closer friends that even when my ex and I broke up, our friendship was still there. He’s one type of guy friend that every girl should always have.  He’d be able to stay late at our house without my mom and dad getting annoyed, have sleep overs at their house, hang out at each others’ houses, staying out late, and basically he’s the type of friend you’d always want to have around.   Not just because he’s good in some technical stuff, but the any day and everyday conversations that become livelier whenever he’s there.

I will surely miss him.  Our group of friends within the city limits have steadily become small  over the years.   And this time the absence will truly be felt.  I guess guy friends have a different impact. No more girl talks with a guy’s point of view, no more platonic hugs, Magic the Gathering games, and most of all, no more laugh out loud sessions and friendly verbal sparring.

*SIGH* [Tol, you will surely be missed.]

But I’m sure he’s making a choice which he has decided is for the best.  Anyway, I’m pretty sure he’ll be okay.

Just a short tribute over the years, here’s my salute to you.

Come So Far (Got So Far to Go)
Hairspray Cast

Hey, old friend, let’s look back
On the crazy clothes we wore
Ain’t it fun to look back
And to see it’s all been done before?
All those nights together are our special memories.
And I can’t wait for tomorrow just
as long as you’re dancing next to me.

Cuz it’s so clear, every year we get stronger!
(Stronger!)
What’s gone is gone…
What’s past is the past…
So turn the radio up…
And then hit the gas cuz…

I know we’ve come so far,
but we’ve got so far to go.
I know the road seems long,
but it won’t be long ‘til it’s time to go.
So, most days we’ll take it fast,
but some nights we’ll take it slow.
I know we’ve come so far, but baby! Baby!
We’ve got so far to go!

Hey old friends together
side by side and year by year!
The road was filled with twists and turns.
Oh, but that’s the road that got us here.
Let’s move past the bad times,
But before those memories fade…
Let’s forgive, but not forget
and learn from all the mistakes we made.

Cuz it’s so clear! Every year, we get stronger!
(Stronger!)
So don’t give up and don’t say when,
And just get back on the road again, cuz

I know we’ve come so far,
but we’ve got so far to go.
I know the road seems long,
Find More lyrics at http://www.sweetslyrics.com
but it won’t be long ‘til it’s time to go.
So, most days we’ll take it fast,
but some nights we’ll take it slow.
I know we’ve come so far, but baby! Baby!
We’ve got so far to go!

Hey old friend come along for the ride,
there’s plenty of room so jump inside.
The highway is rocky every now and then,
but it’s so much better where I’ve been.

Just keep moving at your own speed,
your heart is all the compass you’ll ever need.
Just keep cruising the road you’re on,
cuz the rear view mirror only shows
what’s gone, gone gone!
We’ve got so far to go!

Oh it’s so clear!
Every year, we get stronger!
(Stronger!)
So shine that light and take my hand
And let’s dance into the promise land

Cuz, I know we’ve come so far,
but we’ve got so far to go.
I know the road seems long,
but it won’t be long ‘til it’s time to go.
So, most days we’ll take it fast,
but some nights we’ll take it slow.
I know we’ve come so far, but baby! Baby!
We’ve got so far to go!

Baby! Baby! We got so far to go ( x 6)

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Friendship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

