Surprising Referees

Our invited referees were surprised when they caught a glimpse of me. BAF referees were already by the courtside while I was warming up with my 3 point shots (which was SO off during the whole game. grr.)

It was after our fighting for third game (which we won) that I found out about their speculations. First, they thought we had a female league. Second, they thought I was a “butch” – a lesbian.

I hate to burst their bubble. I’m the ONLY female in our all-male league; and yes I’m a girl. A fact which I proved by wearing my short shorts after the game.

I enjoyed talking with one of the referees. He was a fatherly-looking guy and he was very chatty. After finding out where I graduated from (courtesy of the millers), he even shared a few tidbits about himself. He also officiates ballgames in my alma mater. Guess that’s why he looked very familiar.

Upon leaving, he approached me and shook my hand. It was a gesture of respect and admiration after disclosing that I’m getting more experience and gametime than one of the best female players I know of during my school days since I play with guys.

Cool! Ü

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Sports, Surprise!!! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

