Feeling Nostalgic

I’m feeling a bit nostalgic today.  I just recently heard something (nothing bad though) that made me think of my friends – my barkada.  Actually, I’ve been thinking a lot about them lately especially during my “alone” mall trip last Monday.  A lot of trinkets kept reminding me on how things were during our school years – laughters shared, gifts exchanged, hang outs, and companionship.  Add to that the upcoming season’s festivities (and knowing that I’m broke!) that’s going to breeze through in a couple of months.

I should be grateful for a lot of things.  And a large chunk that I need to be grateful for consists of my barkada.  It’s nearly impossible to have a get-together with the complete gang but the wonders of technology might be able to bridge the gap.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.  I’m not too keen on the planning department of our Christmas get-together.  But I do have ideas.  Some I’m still working out the kinks off.  So I’ll just wait till the right time to decide.

Anyway, I was reading through the old notebook my closest friends gave me.  It sure made me smile from time to time.  At least amidst the pressure and the drama of work life, I can still have that one corner, my personal “happy place” to sneak in and bask in the comfort of knowing I’m worth something – someone truly appreciated.  Reading through it, I was able to gather “proof” on the long-argued questions within the barkada.  The likes of Sino ang pillow ng pillow ng bayan?” (Who’s the pillow of the pillow of the nation/group) or “Pero sino muna ang pillow ng bayan?” (But first, who’s the pillow of the nation/group). Then there’s also EJ’s adamant denial in ever calling her boyfriend “Cookie“.  I got the proof!!! LOL!

a gift from the past
a page from my past

Okay, I’ll stop now.  people might get the wrong idea on the wide grin decorating my face.  Wouldn’t want to get reported of loosening one’s screws just by being myself and unhinging the tightness in my chest.

I also read my bff’s blog and I feel we’re on the same boat.  It’s sometimes easier (or better perhaps) to isolate myself from a group which I feel that I don’t belong too,or who are not receptive in your natural persona.  Why put up so much effort in being accepted when they’ve branded you in their own stereotyped thoughts?  But I guess it can’t be helped.  We’re social beings after all.

Sometimes I envy those who can be at the middle without being plastic about their interactions.  One thing I need to work out on.  But for now, I’m content with knowing there’s a niche for me in the world to be my self without being judged.

A big group BEARHUG to my barkada.  I’m missing you guys!

To read my bff’s blog, click here.

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on October 29, 2010, in A Wandering Mind, Any Ordinary Day, Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bai, I feel you… Totally in the same boat. -_-

    *hug*

  2. i miss you too siTse!! 😦

Leave a Reply

