MASKS

I’ve always fancied masks.  More so now that there are a number of designs available in common malls.  Too bad though that I don’t have funds to start my collection.  Anyway, I read somewhere a certain Mask poem that I wasn’t able to memorize or grab the author of.  So I’m searching for it over the internet.  Still haven’t found it, but I read one poem that I’d like to share.  Here goes:

The Mask

Ollie Lind

“What is that?” I hear you say,
as if you didn’t know.
It’s with me every waking step,
everywhere I go.

It keeps me free from other’s gaze,
shelters me from harm.
With it’s help I solve the maze,
no panic, only calm.

Yet wearing it, I live a lie,
my certainty it shatters.
If you believe that honesty
is all that really matters.

To be myself is what I need,
my fear takes me to task.
Why can’t I simply be as me,
and live without my mask?

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Any Ordinary Day, My Two Cents Worth, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very insightful, you made it very easy to understand where you’re coming from.

Leave a Reply

