Definition of a Friend

I should have posted this last Sunday.  But due to a number of “distractions” I failed to do so.  It may have lost it’s original thunder but I still feel like sharing my own views.


Friends have always been special to me.  In life’s ups and downs, the presence of a friend is a welcome comfort, a cheerful laugh, and an encouraging smile through and through.  I could think of several ways I could define a friend but I doubt my own words would do it justice.  To help me instead paint a better picture, I chose a couple of quotes and sayings that best fit (based on my own set of friends).  To start with:

“A friend is someone who can see the truth and pain in you even when you are fooling everyone else. “

I’m an open book.  Or rather, my eyes are too expressive that just by looking you would know if I was happy or if something was wrong.  Which is why I keep a close guard on my thoughts for my eyes not to betray me.  But then, glimpses of my feelings escape from time to time.

Real friends always have their special way in being in tune with every nuance  of your personality – either when your happy,  joyful, or in pain and in sorrow.

On a sidenote, it’s not just their ability in seeing you through your disguise, but the fact that you can let your defenses down without fear of being rejected.

“What is a friend?  A single soul dwelling in two bodies.”  – Aristotle

It’s SO amazing that two totally different persons get along very well with each other and compliment each other.  For my case, it’s not only between me and another friend but with a bunch of my closest friends.  When we all come together, it’s a cacophony  of laughter – a perfect harmony.

And my favorite definition is:

“Friends are siblings that God forgot to give us.”


I’ve been raised as an only child.  I don’t know the exact feeling of having brothers or sisters to grow up with (although I have a couple of half-brothers, but that’s another story).  Growing up, I turned to my friends for sibling affection.  I always feel like the odd-one-out with my friends.  All of them have siblings to relate with and that is one feeling I will never experience.

Thankfully though, my most prominent circle of friends have always treated each other as siblings.  Even their biological siblings have “adopted” us at some point or another in their family circle.  It’s a really nice feeling and though it’s not written in black and white, our bonds with each other are the closest proof of our strong friendship.

To all my friends: THANK YOU!  Your presence in my life is INDEED a present. One that doesn’t fade out with time, but gets better through time.

How about you guys, what’s your definition of a friend?

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Beautiful and welcome back… We missed your posts. I’m sure you are a cherished friend to those who love you. Friendship matters very much to me and I don’t take my friends lightly… They are the rock I lean on… I enjoyed your post!!! 🙂
    Eliz

  2. i super love this post!
    I’ve been waiting to read this since last week.. =p luvya soul sister.. miss you!

  3. lav-et!!!! luv u BFF!!!! thanks for being my friend through thick and thin (and I mean it literally as well as figuratively). Gimme a hug!!!! *hug*

  1. Pingback: Tao Te Ching (în română) – Cartea despre Cale și Virtute | zing.ro

Leave a Reply

