Band Album Cover

I grew up well-exposed to music from a bystander’s perspective.  My dad was a great musician who’s glory days were during his teenage and early adult life.  I doubt if he ever got an actual album with his group but he rubbed elbows with a few young artists in the Philippines like Freestyle and one member of South Border.

I remember times when he would prod me in forming my own band.  Who knows, with my “talent” I’d be catapulted to music stardom.  Wishful thinking!  Hahaha!  And I was too complacent to get serious with my music studies, and self-teaching.  One thing I can take pride in is my ability to carry a decent tune. 🙂  But more than less, I have a great affinity with music.

I was reading an article from one of my favorite blogs (You can check his blog here).  It shares a fun way in creating your own Band Album cover.  So if you’ve ever played with the thought of  how your band’s album would be, here’s one way to go about it:

1. Go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page and click on “Random Article”. The first random Wikipedia article you get is the name of your band.
2. Go to http://quotationspage.com/ and click on “Random Quotes”. The last few words of the very last quote of the page is the title of your first album.
3. Go to http://www.flickr.com/explore/ and click on “Interesting photos from the last seven days”. The third picture, no matter what it is, will be your album cover. And in case you decide to post the final product, even if we’re just doing this for fun, don’t forget to acknowledge whoever owns the original image!
4. Use Photoshop (or any photo editor program you’re comfortable using)to put it all together.
5. And presto!  You’ve just created your band’s CD album cover!

Here’s what I got:

My Band Name: Diesel Particulate Filter or DPF (Sweet!  It’s got its own short name already!)  Check out it’s definition via wikipedia.

Album Name: Unforgivable Quality to the Unsure (A part of the quote from Bette Davis in the Lonely Life.

Album Picture was from Valerie Roi.  Check out the full picture here.

What’s your band name and album cover? 🙂

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on February 12, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, A Wandering Mind, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Excellent cover… I saw this exercise on facebook and when I tried, mine was less than spectacular. Yours rocks! 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

