One Day at a Time

One of my favorite lines that made me feel better was “to take things one day at a time“.  My classmate had one small bookmark with a poem about this.  It’s in one of my old wallets and I wasn’t able to transfer it yet.  I can’t remember the exact words but reading it through the end always gave me a renewed sense of hope and inner peace.

With the latest developments at work, I haven’t been able to boost myself up.  Until this evening.  So I’m sharing this poem with you guys.  Here’s One Day at a Time by Sandi Lyn Schraut.

Today is just today,
this minute, this second
Today is not ruled by yesterday
Only flavored by it
Tomorrow is a blank slate
Without chalk that crosses time
We cannot write on it
We can have hopes and dreams
But tomorrow will come with,
Its own agenda
Today we work and hope tomorrow comes
Without the pain of past, distant memories
In it’s own right,
today,
this minute,
this second
Is all we have
One day at a time
One day at a time!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Amen… one day at a time is an important maxim to live by… I send you prayers for a smooth transition from there to anther great position.
    Best,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

