Vacation in the Sun City

With time in my hands but with limited budget, going on vacation seemed to be close to impossible.  Naturally, vacation is always accompanied with expenses.  Sources which are NOT readily available as of the moment.  So my bff’s sister-in-law posted in Facebook that she’ll be going on a roadtrip to General Santos City and will be bringing along her son, I invited myself (thinking that she’ll be bringing along her car).  Turns out, she was going to commute.

Sigh… I was debating with myself if I should go or not.  End result?  The traveler in me won out.  The good thing was, the place I’d be staying was free so I just had to worry about my food and expenses for the rides.

Since BB Gurl (I call her that) and the kids – my godsons – (turns out her two sons tagged along) already went ahead.  So I had to take a bus ride on my own.

Thrill of Traveling

It was my first time to travel to GenSan.  And on my own!  Mom wasn’t to keen on me traveling alone too.  I told her not to worry though.  I can handle myself well.  So with her blessings (and a half-price discount from her friend for the bus fare), I went for the terminal and was on a 3-hour bus ride for General Santos City.

The ride was pretty much uneventful except for the occasional passenger pick-ups by the road.  It wasn’t a nonstop bus so it took a longer time in getting there.  I enjoyed the afternoon hustle of the countryside – rice harvesting, children playing, and not to mention the smell of the farm animals… – affirming my decision in taking this trip.  It would have been boring (having no one to talk to) but discovering the places talked about my many acquaintances and seeing it firsthand was just as fun!  At least I know I wouldn’t be lost in conversations about travel within my own island.

The Sites that Welcomed Me

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got to the Sun City.  And, as usual, I was lost in my own thoughts and the tunes that have accompanied me throughout the rest of the trip.  My senses were greeted with a very active city!  The highway was well-lit with long lines of lampposts, and crowds gathering here and there.  Its difference with that of Davao was that instead of PUJs, majority of the rides available were tricycles.

BB Gurl, the kids, and I met at Robinsons Place.  I was still a bit travel-worn with my windblown hair and travelling bags in tow.  While waiting for them, I scouted the area and wondering what to do for the moment.  I saw a wall that was set up in the middle of the mall and was itching to climb it.  Held myself in check though, I was still on an adrenaline high from the travel.  My eldest godson JV called my up and after the manos, hugs, and kisses, we had our dinner.

Again, my adventurous side got the best of me.  And with my godsons as front, I took the opportunity to climb the wall.

That’s Me!

Sean, the younger one of the two, took this snapshot.  Ugh!  Sad to say, I didn’t get to reach the goal.  Blame it on the slippery hands, lack of chalk, tension, or just plain “heaviness”.  One or all is reason enough for me.   Oh well… guess this means I need to work out more.

Places I Went and what I will always remember

We stayed at Florotel.  I didn’t get the exact address but it had a Dimsum Diner branch beside it.  A relatively new hotel so they say.  A quaint place with free wifi access and really accommodating hotel staff.

Since BB Gurl was there for a business trip – a training facilitator, I was responsible for the kids.  So I had to oversee their breakfast for the days I was with them.  Breakfast was always at Dimsum Diner so we didn’t have to go far.  It was always a battle with Sean. He’s like a hamster when eating!  Always storing his food in his mouth!  Sheesh!  We’d start eating at quarter to 8am, and we’d return to our hotel room at around 10am.  But he never finishes his food!  Waah!

In the afternoons, we would go the different malls in GenSan.  KCC Mall, Gaisano Mall, and Robinsons Mall.  I had to keep reminding the kids that their Ninang was in between jobs and funds were low.  I’d make it up soon.  But not wanting to be KJ, I bought them some toys on the more affordable side.  Besides, by the time they’d get to the hotel, I’d have a few minutes of peace with my gadgets.

Unfortunately, JV always prefers to play with my laptop and Sean wants first dibs on my PSP.  Oh well… it’s not an everyday thing anyway.  What’s important is I get to bond with my godsons and I get to bond with another one of my soul sisters.

Night time is bonding time.  So BB Gurl and I talk, have a few good laughs, and just enjoy each others company.  My last night there, we went for a walk to one of their open parks.  Typical GenSan, the air was humid.  But still we strolled along the park while the boys were running here and there.  We took pictures and after we had our fill, we went back to the hotel.  I was bunked with JV so I had to be pretty careful in my sleeping position.  HOWEVER, he had other plans.  For a 10 year old, he already snores and he moves… A LOT!!! I kept waking up in the middle of the night just to give him a lot of space.  I can’t complain though.  He’s my godson after all.  And I love him to pieces!

Now that I’m back in Davao, I’m missing the rush of  the boys’ vying for my attention, the nonsensical laughter that have become a trademark  prior to the storm that will be brewing, and the spattering of toy soldiers and toy animals around the hotel room.   Aside from those, I can still feel the aftereffects of my vacation – the desire to go to other places that I may or may not have gone to is very tempting.  But I’ll store it up for the next adventure.

Thank you BB Gurl for having me!!! Till next time!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on April 14, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, Trips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great holiday! Good that you decided to go 🙂

  2. I’m so proud of you for taking the chance and having a good time. You’ll now have the rock climbing memory forever. You did well, considering how high up you were. 🙂
    Kudos!
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

