Old Friends, New Times

A couple of weeks ago, a few of my old college classmates and I met up during the wake of Sarky’s dad (the one I blogged about here) to pay our respects.  Although our reason for meeting up was a sad event, it was great seeing a few familiar faces after our years in college.  Sure some of our Psych Peepz get together once in a while, being with this particular group was different.  Somehow I felt like I belonged.  Maybe it was because of the fact that 3 of us were at a turning point in our lives.  I just started on my new job; PS transferred to a different school (from being a part-time teacher in ADDU, to being a Guidance Counselor in Brokenshire); and Mackay permanently moving back from Kuwait to take charge in operations of her family’s retail shop and tailoring shop.  It was only Ivy who still worked for the same company. Although she was briefly stressing out that she’s the one who hasn’t changed careers yet.  But knowing Ivy, it’s just aeration of her thoughts.

So for the first two times we met up the 4 of us had dinner together, went to pay our respects, talked about business ventures, former classmates, updates, and just simply catching up.  We spent our  time in Mackay’s retail shop: Retail Therapy by Mel Marquez, got “convinced” into buying a few clothing pieces, then talked more about business.  We’re all looking forward to Mackay’s 2-month plan in opening her own restaurant.  It would be the perfect location for our constant get-togethers.  PS kept on mentioning that she feels our small group is going to be solid and what she’s been looking for as an anchor of sorts (I guess).  With our jobs from 8:00AM – 5:00PM, there’ll be enough time for us to bond.

For the moment though, we’re planning on meeting up during Fridays at the Retail Therapy.  Then for our health and fitness, we’ll be joining different fun runs.  Hopefully this part will push through since I’ve been itching to go on more fun runs.  At least now, I wouldn’t be running on my own.  I’d have friends to accompany me too!

Now I have more reasons to look forward to Fridays! 🙂

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, Friendship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Enjoy your time with friends… don’t be a stranger to the rest of us… Keep blogging! 🙂
    Have a Blessed week ahead!
    Eliz

  2. dapat mag meet up pag nandyan ako sa davao ha, lagi na lang ako nakaka miss ng mga happenings dyan :p

Leave a Reply

