On Overload

I missed a week of blogging.  Now, I’m swamped with a number of thoughts and ideas that I want to share but with so little time at hand… I don’t think I’ll be able to blog about each and every single topic.  Besides, the thunder has already been stolen and the impact wouldn’t be that much convincing.

So I guess I’ll just give a little recap of the things that have happened and the random escaping thoughts flowing from my brain.  Besides, a thought-overloaded brain needs some release.

First: Bonding Moments with Friends

If you all remember, I’ve had a steady night out schedule on Fridays.  I spend it with a couple of my old college classmates (those who do show up for the date, that is!).  I sort of officially tagged my Fridays as “Fri-dates“.  However, for almost a month of that, it has become so much of a “cheat” date.  (Not the sleazy kind!)  Why?  Part of our bonding is doing one of the most natural things in sustaining life… eating.

You’ll get what I mean with these photos:

@ Crepelato (June 3, 2011)

The Victorian Spare Ribs
My Pistachio Gelato
The Magic Words…
So many choices!

@ Bigby’s (June 10, 2011)

Grilled Pork something…

@ Seafood Island Grill (June 17, 2011)

My bff came home to surprise her dad.  Luckily, it was a Friday! So here we go again…

The Tali Beach
Our Coffee Treat courtesy of my achi!

Ok.  That’s enough food for right now.  On to another set of bonding session.

For us long-time Friends (bff Achi – 18 years; bff Rai – 14 years), it’s always a pleasure doing common things together.  With the busy schedule of the workweek, hanging out and unwinding is all the more pleasant with friends.  I appreciated the fact that they went out their way to come and watch my basketball game and were my number 1 fans.  So heartwarming!  Then, had dinner together late at night, joined the fun run (achi, showed up well after the race started. huhu!), eating breakfast together, went on a group massage (which we forgot to take photos of)  and just being goofy around each other.

An actual picture of me playing!
Fun Run Aftershots (guess who didn’t run)
A newly discovered Ice Cream (thanks ate MM.. and Dru!)

It was a jam-packed week(end).  And I’m still reeling with all the thoughts that I want to share, trying to capture its essence at the least.  Overload I tell you!  Even in selecting photos to share, I can’t decide.

Anyway, that’s the first on my list.

Second: Father’s Day

Father’s day this year has a bittersweet feel in the air.  After the run, my brother texted me that they (his family) will be visiting Dad’s resting place to pay respects.  So I opted to go with them (since Mom had other plans as well).  I bought my dad flowers and got another set for my grandma too since their resting places were beside each other.  Before prepping up though, I still couldn’t help the trickling tears falling down my face.  Quite pathetic really… but couldn’t be helped.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed spending time with my brother’s family.  My nieces are growing up at a fast pace but they will always be my dad’s (their Daddylo’s) girls.

The Pizza of Hunger..

 Third: Work

Work’s fine.  My new boss finally started yesterday.  So far so good.  He reminds me of one of my closest friends.  Hope we’ll get along just fine.  I’m more stressed out on a different load.  Contracts of leases.  Not my cup of tea.  But, I’ll wing it for now.

Another good news from work was that the Special Non-working Holiday last June 20 has been approved by our management (a feat which they rarely do).  Hopefully, all succeeding holidays will be acknowledged!

And last..

I was planning on starting a new category.  Just something that I’m pretty sure everybody’s doing as well be it bluntly or discreetly.  What am I talking about?  Just a “Did you know” section.  So I’ll probably start posting a few trivia and other random information I gathered or just discovered within the week to keep track of what little new things I learn everyday and share it with all of you.  I would’ve started last June 15 but that idea took a backseat on the many other details in my so-called- exciting life. LOL.

What started it all and why June 15?  Well, on that day I was searching for a synonym for a word when I saw that Google had a new logo.  For those non-Google users, which I doubt there are any, Google changes their website logo whenever they were in commemoration or celebrating a feast, anniversary, or any momentous event.  What  caught my attention?  A flash video of the moon.  That was then I learned that there was a lunar eclipse the night before.  Darn!  And I missed it!

Oh well… there’ll be a next time (I hope!)

So wish me luck on my target! 🙂

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, A Wandering Mind, An Ode to Food, Friendship, Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You have definitely been busy… all those pictures of food made me very hungry! 🙂

  2. yummy food! But the best thing about the whole thing is being able to spend time with you guys.. =p

  3. so yummyyy!!!! nagutom ako! kainis!!!

Leave a comment