My [What A]Day

My day started out pretty gloomy.  No breakfast set on the table, no steady chants of the “Happy Birthday” tune from Mom or Dad, no presents by my bedside.  Waking up early wasn’t too appealing… but I slept early and oversleeping would have caused unwanted headaches.  Not a good thing to carry the whole day.  I wanted to take a leave of absence (even an unpaid one) but there were a number of pending workload at the office.

FINE…

I longed to be serenaded “Mañanita-style” – early morning singing from a group of friends to start my day.  But, so far, I haven’t had the privilege of that activity.  The more traditional greets I get are the midnight texts (and calls!) from a few of my closest friends.  2 people greeted me that time.  Tol and my ex bf.

The day continues…

I didn’t really know what to expect.  But with the numerous birthday greetings I got in Facebook, plus the personal greets (and off-key singing) from my office mates, it was hard not to feel a tinge of warmth inside me and cause a breakout of smiles.

Here are a few simple surprises that made my day:

Addictions324

Flowers taken from a decoration at the office given by 2 of my teammates/officemates

Addictions325

Rocker Girl’s Gift (For my basketball days)

A bouquet of flowers was also delivered in the office from a secret admirer (not really, let’s just pretend to make it more exciting! LOL).  I’ve always wanted to receive a package of that kind.  A truly heartwarming experience.

My day became quite hectic in the afternoon.  My scheduled interviews pretty much took up my time.  I was feeling a bit guilty not being able to provide, at the least, light snacks for the office.  But I had no choice.  Being broke is such a stressor!

I wasn’t too eager to go home and celebrate by myself.  Thankfully, bff Toffee told me her sis wants to meet up with me.

Maybe Ate MM will be giving me the souvenir she promised from her trip! Weee!

Bff Raisa was also coming along to meet up.  A welcome company.

Surprise, surprise!!!

Ate MM, came along with 3 boxes of Cello’s Donuts & Dips (as per instruction of her younger sister/bff Toffee).  Definitely unexpected.

I still miss the numerous personal greetings from people I know but this one sums it up.

DSC01478  DSC01479     DSC01480

DSC01481

Thank you BFFs Toffee and Raisa!  Thank you, Ate MM!  Thank you for making this day special for me.  I guess no matter which part of the country we are (or the world for that matter!), going the extra mile, being able to put a smile in our faces and uplift our soul, will never be a problem.  I’m still a bit sad for a couple of things, but It’s not much of a big deal now. Smile

Thank you.

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, Friendship, Surprise!!! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy, Happy Birthday again! The donuts words were so cute… Very sweet of your friend… that is what life is about; friendships and loved ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

