Food Trip: Gino’s Burgers

Last Monday, Aya caught my attention while talking about burgers – particularly GIANT burgers in Davao City. So he showed me a few photos of burgers served in the city that he was interested in trying out – Gino’s Burgers.

After viewing the photos and checking out their Facebook page and a few other blog reviews here and there while posting of mouth-watering photos and appetizing reviews, I was determined to check it out within the week. Luckily enough, a friend of mine invited me for a meet up that night so what better way to explore a new place than to bring along a friend.

Geared with the photo of the map I took, off we went and walked along Lapu-lapu St. With my basic knowledge of the area, it wasn’t so difficult to find it. After all, it was situated almost across the house of my former classmate.

The place had less of a diner feel but more of a carenderia atmosphere that served burgers and other sidings related to burgers. But for a relatively small space, the place was full of customers. I even noticed a few college students from my school who went there. I even noticed the owner (I remember him from one of the photos I saw) who was there assisting his staff with the orders. Nice.

Let’s proceed to our orders. My friend ordered a regular burger and I was debating on having the Baconmush Burger or the Hawaiian Burger. My craving for a more “tropical” dish won so Hawaiian for me and a serving of regular fries (which I shared of course!). I think we waited for about 5 to 10 minutes before our orders arrived. While waiting for our burgers to be charcoal grilled, I noticed a few patrons who came in to pick up their orders and others patiently waited for a table to free up. With the steady flow of the crowd, I was really eager and curious with the taste of their burgers especially since their sinages say that they never freeze their patties.

Here’s the photo-ops of our orders:

Our burgers

My Hawaiian Burger

closer look

Fries anyone?

The first bite was the crucial one. And with that first bite, a gastronomic symphony started playing at the back of my mind. Delicious! The patty was just too juicy not take a moment to savor the taste in your mouth. And the burger buns were really soft and perfect for the grilled juiciness of the patty.

I don’t think I have the right words to describe the taste test I did that night. Goes to show that I need to brush up on my adjectives. LOL. But seriously, if you’re into burgers and would like to try something new, I highly recommend Gino’s Burgers. And if you want to try ginormous burgers (for free), you can join in on their eating contests every Saturday from 2 – 4PM. If you are able eat one GIANT burger in 3 minutes, you get it for free. Up for the challenge? Here’s how:

Giant Inferno Burger Challenge

How to get to Gino’s Burgers:

Yu Uy Tong Building
Lapu-lapu St. near cor. Sobrecary St.
Agdao, Davao City
Tel. No. (082) 2262659

By the way, I seem to be deviating on my usual Food Trip Fridays so I’m short-naming my post titles into “Food Trip” instead.

Happy eating everyone! 🙂

Posted on November 30, 2011, in A Blog A Day/Week, An Ode to Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. will visit and try the burgers later this aftie:)

  2. I loooove the way you write about the food you eat and I want to see if I can get you to have a taste of our Burgers as well 🙂 and if you feel like sharing your experience at backyard Burgers, that would be fabulous. Let me know how I can contact you 🙂

    • Wow! Thanks for the compliment! I would love to try out Backyard Burgers some time soon. An officemate of mine has been mentioning it for quite some time. 🙂 You can reach me through my twitter: @mitzybitsyspidr if you want. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

