Food Trip Friday: Riley Simon Grilled Burger and Ribs

Just out of the blue, I invited a friend of mine to accompany me in trying out some delicacies in Riley Simon Grilled Burger and Ribs.

I first saw an ad about it (more like a photo of a local newspaper featuring this diner)  in Facebook by a friend.  Judging from its caption, it was either her friend’s business or their family business.  Anyway, I wasn’t too eager to try it out yet (diet mode: on).  I didn’t even catch the name of the place then.  However, when one of my rusher friends tweeted that we try out Riley Simon’s soon, I decided to check it out for myself first.

So last Friday, we headed out to the intersection of V. Mapa and Mabini St. for a first-hand experience.  The place wasn’t too crowded yet when we arrived and the owners were very friendly in welcoming guests.  And I was right!  A family-owned business!  I saw my high school senior year classmate busily going from the kitchen to the counter in catering to orders.  I also saw a younger year schoolmate taking the reigns by the counter.

Not to call to much attention and bother them, we took our seats and ordered dinner.  One RS#7 (Grilled Round Burger with Tomato, Lettuce, Cucumber, Cheese, Mayonnaise & Caramelized Onion) and the RS Rib#2 (1/4 kg Grilled Pork Ribs with Rice).

After waiting  a couple of minutes for our orders to arrived, I tried checking for a WiFi signal since they didn’t post any signs in having a connection.  And as luck would have it, I was in a WiFi hotspot!  Not sure though if it were their own.  LOL.

It didn’t take too long for the food to arrive.   The RS#7 was the first to be served.  It was my first time to order a “giant” burger.  And honestly, I was wondering how I could finish it off.  Luckily, my friend was willing to help me in eating it.

B.I.G.

 The burger buns were a bit too thick for me.  But I guess it was to balance out all the toppings (fillings).  All in all, the food was great!  The ambiance was quite already (just don’t get caught in the dinner crowd rush).  But with the hospitable owners and crews, you’d never feel unattended.

So congratulations to Davao, for having a new flavor added to what the city can offer!

By the way, Riley Simon is open everyday from 10AM to 10PM.

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in A Blog A Day/Week, An Ode to Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

