The Cycling Chronicles: Thoughts on Upgrading

I have been meaning to upgrade my bicycle since I started using it during my night cycling and going to work.  Not because it wasn’t functioning well.  It’s still in good condition and has been serving it’s purpose since day one.

Mountain Bike Parts (Photo taken from here)

So why upgrade?

If you’ve had your fair share in riding bicycles for a certain period of time, I think this word would make sense: SHOCKS.  Suspension or for other bike terminologies – Telescopic.  Ok.  I don’t do any off-road cycling (yet).  But riding your bike over small bumps and rocky patches on the road are very bothersome, to say the least!  The aftershocks that course through your body is quite manageable… but the body pains afterwards are a different story.

Moral of the story?  Always stretch before mounting your bike.  LOL.

Anyway, back to upgrading.  One common problem I’ve encountered so far is the limited bike shops in my hometown.  Okay, scratch that.  There are a number of bike shops around, but all places that I seem to go to after work and during Sundays are closed.  Ugh…  I’ve contemplated in buying for parts online but I have a few hesitations… especially since I’m not familiar with bike parts and stuff.  What would happen if I buy the wrong piece?  In addition, I don’t have easy access in discussing with anyone on bicycle upgrade.

TOUGH LUCK!

Speaking of luck…  As luck would have it, there was one Saturday that I saw a bike shop still open after 5pm.  Since I was in a rush to go home, I thought I’d just return after a few minutes.  But when I got back, the store was closed.  So last week, I decided to go there and thankfully the store was just starting to close up.  So I asked the attendant if I could take a look around.  He gave his thumbs up then after a couple of minutes of looking around, it was time to close.  He offered that their main branch was open (half-day) on Sundays.  And that they had more choices there.

Yey!

So last Sunday, I was able to get to the store and have a look around.  There was one attendant who was kind enough to approach me (probably saw the confused look in my face) and chatted me up.  He understood where I was coming from and willingly offered his help in slowly upgrading my bike.  I showed him a couple of photos of spare parts I was considering buying through an online seller, then he gave me advise in the parts I needed to look out for.  He showed me a couple of choices for my bike frame (BLUE!) and options for shocks.  Since it was nearing closing time, kuya Rocky wanted to see my bike up close and personal to give a full recap on what I needed to purchase first.

(Online Spare Parts from Bikestuff Unltd)

Seatpost

Handle bars and stems (pretty colors!)

And his verdict?

Since I’m still a new biker, I should just take it slow in upgrading.  I think this is to safekeep my wallet as well since I might not make this  much of a habit.  He agreed however that my target in upgrading my fork to shocks and change my frame was a good start.  So we agreed he’d help me in looking for a good set of frames made of alloy, and shocks to cushion me during those bumpy rides.

I still have a lot to learn but this new venture seems promising.  In addition, I was given an invitation to join their cycling group.  I’d like that!  But I think I need more practice first.  I don’t think I can have an average speed of 40kph anytime soon.  So I need to practice first!

Wish me luck!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on April 23, 2012, in A Blog A Day/Week, Cycling 101, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m finally catching up again on blog posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

