A National Icon: A Short Tribute to Dolphy

I’m not much of a fan for Philippine movies and TV shows (with a few minor exemptions), but when it comes to “Dolphy-related” films I knew for certain that it would be well worth watching.  He sure lived up to his title as The Comedy King.

I’ve seen a few famous stars who have passed on in my earlier years but none have had the same effect on me as “Tito Dolphy”.  Reading a number of tribute blogs posts, tribute articles, and seeing how the media having a field day in documenting his wake (and prior to that, their paparazzi moments in the hospital while he was still in the ICU) and reminiscing his glory days in movies and in television, one cannot stop but feel a great pang of loss that a National Icon has preceded us in a larger and higher center stage.

Makes me think if my dad is part of the welcoming band to meet him.

Somehow I can’t help the tears from coming.  Perhaps it’s because losing a family member strikes a chord that resonates deep within.  And more so the fact that no other comedian can come at par with what Dolphy has accomplished in his time.  A pillar in the entertainment industry.

Though I have not met him personally, makiki-Tito Dolphy na rin ako.  Thank you for the laughters and life lessons.  You’ve touched countless lives just because of your very being.  The world will always be a brighter place thru the memories you’ve left behind.

You are again one step ahead of us.

Photos taken from http://ph.omg.yahoo.com – Dolphy tribute articles

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in A Blog A Day/Week, My Two Cents Worth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

