If Each Birthday Cake Were An Age Marker

If each birthday cake were an age marker, I think I’d have added a good 16 years worth of cake during my birthday week(end).

I’m not used to holding parties or any celebration of my birth for that matter especially during my working years.  The hassle in preparation plus finding a perfect mix for a celebration was always too restricting fo me.  I’ve gotten used to people giving hints on party details.  Even at home, bigtime celebrations were a thing of the past.

Just imagine my pleasure when a day before my birthday (since August 11 was a Saturday) I prepared a small serving of food for my colleagues when they whipped out their surprise for me.

My first surprise cake from SDC – Chocolate Cake

But aside from the surprise cake and other treats, my Grade Level colleagues gave such a beautiful prayer for me.

Really quite refreshing to be in an environment that’s very positive and selfless.

My celebration continued on the date of my birth itself.  We only had one class in the morning and the rest of the day was given to me as a gift (so to speak).  I decided to introduce some of my colleagues to Valhall Bar and Deli for cold cuts and other dishes.

Food Trip: Valhall Bar and Deli

When I got home, I found this… my second surprise birthday cake courtesy of my mom.  Plus my most favorite Baked Macaroni from Kimbell’s (my childhood favorite baked macaroni baker.

My 2nd Cake Surprise: Carrot Cake and Baked Macaroni

Since Mom prepared for dessert, I opted to invite my #DavaoRusher friends (including my bff) to celebrate with me at home.  And as luck would have it, I got my third cake surprise in likes of Red Ribbon’s Mocha Roll.  How I LOVE mocha!

Davao Rushers with one lacking – @Rawrph

And to culminate my weekend birthday surprise, Mom ordered chocolate cake as a “make-up” surprise for all the years wherein she never got to do this.  Expecting one piece of cake to bring to my workplace, she got her own surprise when her friend prepared a dozen and one mini cakes for me.

13 mini cakes

I know it’s a month late in posting.  But I felt the need to really post this.  Thank you for everyone who made this year’s birthday a very memorable one.  The change in my life for the past few months have been such a whirlwind of experience and a rollercoaster of emotions.  In all my years of working in an industrial setting, it is only through my current job that have experienced being treated exceptionally.

I wish I could have shared it with friends who were far away and loved ones who’ve gone ahead.  Nevertheless, thank you for the greetings and memories I will always cherish.

If each birthday cake were indeed markers of age, then I wouldn’t mind getting thousands of cakes if it meant that I am loved.

Thank you everyone!

About d@rk_@ngel_kn!ght

A traveler at heart, a bystander by nature. On good hair days, I look like a cobra with my hair serving as my "hood". On other days, I'm better off left alone. Genuine, sweet, thoughtful, and simple.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in A Blog A Day/Week, A Wandering Mind, An Ode to Food, Surprise!!! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Happy 36th birthday then? XD

  2. “Happy Belated Birthday to you! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  1. Pingback: ME, MYSELF, and I: 24 years…a look back! « MyLIFEin24Hours

Leave a Reply

